Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 347 & 348 – December 13 & 14

Dec 13 – A week or two ago I bought a new cookbook: The Gourmet Vegetarian Slow Cooker. I scanned through the recipes and about 85% of them would work with my new dairy and soy free diet. And they were all slow cooker recipes . .. even better!

Today I tried out the first recipe. It was for a tomato mushroom sauce that could then be used in several other recipes. The recipe called for 4 pounds of tomatoes, mushrooms, onions, olive oil, salt and pepper. It smelled good, but it was highly lacking in flavor. I dumped in a bunch of oregano, but it was only mildly better. I’m sure the bland tomatoes from the grocery store didn’t help matters. Fresh tomatoes from the garden would have made a big difference, I’m sure. I bet 4 pounds of nice and ripe heirloom tomatoes would have made an amazing sauce. Alas, we have a million squirrels around here and our house a million trees, so no fresh tomatoes for us.

Tomorrow I’ll be using the sauce in a soup recipe, so we’ll see if the sauce does better mixed in with something else.

Dec 14 – Today I made a potato, artichoke and mushroom stew and used the tomato sauce from yesterday. The stew was really quite good. The recipe called for Kalamata olives, which I didn’t have, but it didn’t really need it. The potatoes were super tender and were infused with the flavor of the sauce as well as the flavor of the marinated artichoke hearts. I don’t think the babes liked it very well, but I thought it was yummy. Frankly, it’s one of the better meals I’ve had since starting this milk/soy free diet. So, unfortunately for the babes, they’ll be seeing this on the table more often this winter.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 347 & 348 – December 13 & 14

  1. I am sure they will learn to love it!

Leave a Reply

