Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 349 & 351 – December 15 & 17

Dec 15 – Five and a half years ago, I joined the ranks of lactating women. I’m now on my 4th nursling, and I had never heard of lactation cookies until today. A friend posted on Facebook about some that she had made and I thought, “What in the world are lactation cookies?” When I really thought about it, it wasn’t all that strange. They are just regular old cookies with a few additional ingredients: oatmeal, flax seed meal and brewer’s yeast. All three of these things help to boost milk production, why not put them into a cookie? I was curious to see how they would work, or if they would work, so I whipped up a batch using this recipe. I made the same changes my friend had made: omit the coconut, add 4T water, 2T flax seed meal, 2T brewer’s yeast, 1/2 cup cranberries. They certainly aren’t as delish as my chocolate coconut lime cookies, but they were definitely good enough to eat and eat and eat. I could have done without the fresh canberries, dried cranberries would have been better, I think. In any case, they are healthy enough that I’ll probably have these laying around when I need extra calories or when I need some nutrition. As far as boosting milk supply, I didn’t really notice any difference. Then again, it’s hard to know exactly how much milk the little boss is getting, so maybe there was a bit more. :shrug:

I had a rehearsal last night for a Sunday night concert. When I woke up this morning, I realized that I was knocking at laryngitis’ door. I had lost my voice about 2 weeks ago, and now it was threatening to leave again. NOT what I was needing the day before a concert Sooo, I went searching for natural ways to relieve chest congestion, which would then help the laryngitis . . .at least that was my logic.

The first concoction was to grate a clove of garlic into a tablespoon of honey. Wow . . .that was totally gross! And really, not sure that it made any difference. The next concoction was sage tea made of dried sage leaves in water. It wasn’t delicious, but it wasn’t great, either. I drank what seemed like gallons of water with the hope of loosening the mucous. In the end, I’m not sure that it helped. I didn’t lose my voice, and was able to sing, so that was good. I suppose that had I not done any of the above, I might have totally lost it. That’s something I’ll never know.

Dec 17 – A few days ago, I happened to see some black rice at the grocery store. I was intrigued, so I bought it. My original plan was to just use it under a mushroom based topping. That changed when I saw the recipe on the back of the bag for black rice with sweet potatoes. The rice was cooked separately from the sweet potatoes, onions, garlic, and ginger, which were sauteed until the taters were tender. I cooked the rice in a rice cooker, but had to do it twice, adding more water. Overall, I thought it was quite good. I put too much ginger, but that’s because I didn’t bother to measure and just eye-balled it. The babes thought it was okay, but they didn’t love it enough for me to pay the high price for black rice on a regular basis. I’ll probably make it just for me and give them regular white rice.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 349 & 351 – December 15 & 17

  1. So glad you were able to sing!

Leave a Reply

