Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 352 – December 18

A few days ago I mentioned my new slow cooker cookbook. Today I tried another recipe from the book: Polenta Gnocchi with Tomato Mushroom Sauce. I made the tomato sauce a few days ago. Today I just needed to make the polenta. I actually started it yesterday, and then forgot about it and ended up leaving it in the slow cooker for an extra 12 hours! Oops. No real harm was done, though. The polenta was just corn meal, lots of water and some salt. Once it was cooked and looked like porridge, I spread it onto a cookie sheet, then set it in the fridge for 2-4 hours to set up. Then my 5 year old and I used cookie cutters to cut out shapes. They are ostensibly supposed to be circles . . . we thought it would be more fun to do other shapes. It was very similar to making sugar cookies with the main difference being that I wasn’t sure what to do with the scraps. You couldn’t really smoosh them together and cut another shape, it would just fall apart. So, I think I’m going to maybe fry up the remainder and use it as a topping garnish for something or other.

So back to the recipe. Once the polenta shapes were done, I placed them in a glass dish, overlapping them, and then I poured the tomato mushroom sauce all over. The whole thing got dumped into the oven to bake for about 30 minutes, and that was it. The taste was pretty bland. None of the babes liked it, DH thought it was yummy, I thought it had potential but needed help. The sauce was actually much better today than it was the other day. The polenta had no flavor. So next time, I’m going to add some herbs to the slow cooker so that the polenta will be infused with flavor.

It’s a pretty time-intensive food to make. If you don’t have two slow cookers, you’ll have to make the polenta and the sauce on separate days. The actual hands on time isn’t very much, but you definitely need to plan ahead. PLanning ahead isn’t exactly one of my fortes!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 352 – December 18

  1. I think you are gr8 !

Leave a Reply

