Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 353 & 354 – December 19 & 20

Dec 19 – It seems that noone in my family like chick peas except for me. That’s too bad for them, cuz they’ll be seeing a fair amount of the bean in the coming months as they are healthy and pack lots of nutrients. I found a yummy looking recipe for a garbanzo bean and tomato salad. I just had to try it because it looked so colorful and easy. I was the only person that liked the salad, everyone else complained about it. Well, DH didn’t complain, but in order to set a good example, he bravely downed two servings even though he REALLY doesn’t like garbanzos! I’ll probably make the salad again, but it’ll just be a snack for me. I see no reason to intentionally subject my family to food that they don’t like. In the future, I’ll add less honey and more salt, but overall, I thought it was good!

You may remember my previous attempt at making vegetable broth. I found a different recipe and decided to try making my own broth again. (This was motivated by the fact that I had forgotten to buy more broth at the co-op.) I used the recipe as a guide and just added in whatever I had: carrots, cauliflower, cherry tomatoes, celery, onions, garlic, TONS of fresh dill and salt. The end result was disappointing. I really had high hopes for this broth . . . it smelled better and had more stuff in it. Alas, it was still woefully bland. I wonder if I need to cook it longer? Eh, who knows. I may try one more time. I’m saving the veggie scraps (cut ends of carrots, onion peels, etc.) in the freezer. When I have a critical mass, I’ll use those along with other veggies to make another broth. I’ll keep you posted.

A few weeks ago, a friend recommended the blog post punk kitchen. I was pretty impressed with the number of good-looking recipes there. Someone had given us a butternut squash, so today I tried out the Roasted Butternut Alfredo recipe. It was really quite labor intensive: roasting the squash, making the vegetable broth, soaking the cashews, making the butternut cream. It was alot of work. I was pretty excited about how it would turn out. When I tasted the butternut cream, it was pretty yummy. And then, it happened . . . . I added the soy-free miso. I’m pretty sure that is what ruined the whole dish. It gave it a weird flavor. Weird because we weren’t used to it, not weird because it was inherently bad. Just like the chickpea salad, this dish met with lots of complaining, and “mommy, I don’t liiiikke it!” (Poor kids, I was 0 for 2 in provided them yummy meals!) The babes didn’t eat very much, mostly just the required 3 bites of everything on their plate. DH ate it, but said that it wasn’t the most thrilling pasta he’d ever had. Sadly, I had made a whole pound of pasta, so there was ALOT! I figured I’d be eating alot of butternut squash pasta and that would be that.

Fast forward 24 hours . . . . all of the remaining pasta got dumped outside in our scraps pile. After seeing the pasta again in the form of diarrhea and puke from two of the boys, I was A) grossed out and B) grossed out. So, suffice it to say that this recipe has died a slow and painful death in our house. It’s too bad . . .there was so much potential!

Dec 20 – Yesterday was a busy cooking day. Today I decided to take it easy and just make bread. I tried a new bread recipe called Burlap bread. It contained molasses, all-purpose flour, wheat germ, coconut oil, and a few other things in it. The loaf was quite dark thanks to the molasses, and it was short because the loaves fell when I removed the tea towel after the second rising. So they were very dense, pretty good, but dense. Finally, I had hit upon a winner. I made two loaves of bread and they were both gone in 24 hours!

Dec 20 –

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

