Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 355 – December 21

Happy Holidays, everyone. I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas with your family and friends! This post should actually have been posted a few days ago, but Christmas prep kept me busy!

Dec 21 – Today was another busy cooking day, with two totally new recipes. I tried another new bread recipe, and this one was SUPER good. So good, in fact, that I believe it may be our staple bread. It’s called Vita B bread and has bran flakes it, which is where it gets its name. Bran cereal is high in Vitamin B. This recipe is so good that I’m going to share it with you. (Since starting this post, I’ve had to make this bread twice . .. it’s THAT good!)

Vita B Bread from The Red Star Centennial Bread Sampler

1 cup whole bran cereal
1 cup hot water
6 to 6 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
4 1/2 teaspoons instant yeast
1 1/2 T salt
1 cup water
2/3 cup honey
1/2 cup shortening
2 eggs

In small bowl, pour 1 cup hot water over bran cereal; let stand. In large mixer bowl, combine 2 cups flour, yeast and salt; mix well. In saucepan (or in microwave), heat 1 cup water, honey and shortening until warm (120-130 degrees; shortening does not need to melt). Add to flour mixture. Add eggs. Blend at low speed until moistened; beat 3 minutes at medium speed. By hand, gradually stir in bran mixture and enough remaining flour to make a firm dough. knead on floured surface, 5 to 8 minutes. Place in greased bowl, turning to grease top. Cover; let rise in warm place until double, about 1 1/2 hours.

Punch down dough. Divide into 2 parts. On lightly floured surface, roll or pat each half to a 14×7-inch rectangle. Starting with shorter side, roll up tightly, pressing dough into roll with each turn. Pinch edges and ends to seal. Place in greased 9×5-inch bread pans. Cover; let rise in warm place until double, about 1 hour. Bake at 375 for 40-45 minutes until loaves sound hollow when tapped. Remove from pans; cool.

Enjoy!

I also made a banana bread using this recipe from the blog Money saving mom. The bread was pretty good. The rest of my family either didn’t know that it was available, or they didn’t like it . .. no matter . .. more for me! I made a few changes to the recipe. Instead of tapioca flour, which I didn’t have, I used cornstarch, following the substitution directions found here. I also didn’t have brown rice flour, so I used cake flour instead.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

