Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Hats, gloves and scarves

When I lived on my own, organizing my winter gear was no big deal. I had a nice coat rack mounted on the wall and I’d just fill it up. When DH and I got married, it was still easy peasy. With each addition to the family, the organization has gotten more and more tricky. For the past few years, I’ve been keeping the babes’ hats and gloves in a bagsket, similar to the ones I used to organize the toys. The coats got hung in the coat closet. This year, I got tired of having to hang up and take down three sets of coats and scarves, so I put up a row of Command hooks for the babes to hang up their own stuff. That has been working like a charm. They even hung their hats and scarves there.
hats, scarves before

All was well, until Christmas day, when they were showered with all manner of hats and scarves thanks to the crocheting prowess of my mom. Now what was I going to do with all of the hats? They were ending up all over the house, which was making me nuts! My solution, little bags. I decided against the bagskets as they are a big time intensive and time is at an extreme premium around here. Instead, I went with this tutorial from A Ditchin’ Time Quilts. I used all of the same measurements, but made the box deeper and the hanging handle shorter. I managed to crank these out in about an hour and a half. And that was with the babes helping by sewing on their machines. I rearranged the placement of the command hooks, hung and stuffed the baskets, and got this:

hats, scarves after

It’s not a “Trading Spaces” worthy transformation, but it’s definitely so much better. For one, the babes love them. I think this is partly because they helped to make them, and partly because they chose the fabric (which is why it doesn’t all necessarily match). For two, they are completely functional. Even the 2 year old can get down his basket and decide which hat he wants to wear. It’s a think of beauty, really!

ETA: I forgot to add the time and money spent!

Total time: 2 hours
Total cost: free

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Hats, gloves and scarves

  1. That looks gr8. Sorry to disrupt your life. I love you.

Leave a Reply

