Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 278 – September 20

Let’s start out with a quick review of yesterday’s recipe, the orzo with eggplant. It was “edible”, as my mom likes to say, but I didn’t find it delicious. I think the babes at a bit of it, and DH thought it was delish. For me, it just seemed like the outcome wasn’t worth the amount of time put into making it. If you try it, I’d be curious to hear your thoughts.

Today was a very cool, fall-like day, so I was inspired to make something pumpkin-ish. Yesterday, my 3yo had asked if I could make pancakes for breakfast today. I generally reserve pancakes for the weekend since I have a bit more time. Since I still wanted to make something special, I decided on scones, as they are pretty quick to whip up. I pinned this recipe for pumpkin chocolate chip scones and figured today, in all of its fall-like excellentness, would be a great day to try them out.

I didn’t really read through the directions carefully before starting. (Tsk! Tsk!) Imagine my dismay at discovering that I was supposed to let the dough chill in the fridge for 30 minutes! Shoot! I was starving and wanted the scones NOW! Since I ended up with more scones than what would fit on one tray, I went ahead and dumped the first tray in the fridge and baked the second tray immediately. Honestly, I didn’t notice any difference between the chilled and non-chilled scones. Both were super delish and I wanted to eat every last one! The babes loved them as did DH. I’ll definitely be making these again, maybe varying what type of chip to use and varying the spices.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment